Kaapstad (part I)


Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

 

Cape Town is probably the most famous South African city, a place I had longed to visit since I was a child and first told of Columbus failed directions.
How was it that trying to get to India via the southern  cape he had ended in America? Nonetheless, I was eager to visit the Cape of Good Hope – Le cape de Bonne Espérance! What must it be like to arrive at the edge of Africa,  where both oceans meet. To the child in me, this was the end of the world, not a step further and on no other continent. It was the stories of Shaka, Zulu warrior and his wives, and all the things I had imagined a child before me.

I took upon myself the task to discover this city within a week, staying in three neighborhoods and getting a good sense of the city.Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photographing cities, I find, is not unlike photographing someone. You have to get to know them. I have not photographed Cape Town, not yet, not the way I would like to. It takes knowing someone to photograph them, their moods, their colors, their feelings, their energy

Cape Town is full of stories and secrets. I must return to it soon, find the depth in its soul and truly show it in my eyes.

 

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Until I do, here are a few of my favorites images so far.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
Children performing in the street

—–

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMugPhoto & Video Sharing by SmugMug

